top of page

BIOGRAPHY

A conscious choice for tradition is not synonymous with a lack of creativity, on the contrary!

It is in 2004 that Julien discovers the pleasure of music with the electric bass. He then crosses paths with Francis Winandy, his first music and instrument teacher. Important encounter for him, since it will make him discover the reality of music and especially JAZZ.

 

He will continue to take lessons with Francis Winandy, as well as at the academy Marcel Désiron with Phillipe Doyen for 2 years.

 

He then completes the full program (theory and instrument) at the Jazz Studio in Antwerp, where he will graduate in 2010. He there studies the electric bass for 3 years and finishes the program on upright bass. This means a radical and permanent change of instrument for him. During this period, he takes classes with Bas Cooijmans, Jeremy Calbert, Bo Waterschoot, Richard Rousselet, Laurent Mercier, among many others.

 

In the course of these 4 years, he also meets 3 musicians who will open his ear and especially his view on music. Second important encounter for him: that with Augusto Pirodda, Marek Patrman and Manolo Cabras.

 

After finishing the Jazz Studio, Julien continues to perfect his skills on the double bass with Manolo Cabras.

 

In 2015 - after several years of jam sessions in Belgium, mainly in Brussels - he establishes his first "real" project, the Julien Fraipont Quintet. In this project, he's sharing the stage with Aristide Agostino, Mathieu Najean, Mathieu De Wit and Gaspard Sicx. It is for this project that he takes on a second role, that of the composer. He will record his first EP at this time.

From 2016 to 2018, Julien, among others with his quintet, will perform on various Belgian stages such as Yellow Time Jazz Festival, Brussels Jazz weekend, Gouvy Jazz festival and many others as well as in many Brussels clubs.

In parallel with all this, Julien gives lessons in various Belgian schools and academies. In 2018, he resumed lessons at the Maastricht conservatory in order to perfect his training.

 

Stay tuned...

bottom of page

BIOGRAPHIE

Un choix conscient pour la tradition n’est pas le synonyme d’un manque de créativité, que du contraire!

C'est en 2004 que Julien Fraipont (°1982, Waremme-BE) découvre le plaisir de la musique avec la basse électrique. Il croise alors Francis Winandy, son premier professeur de musique et d'instrument. Rencontre importante pour lui car il lui fera découvrir la réalité de la musique et surtout le JAZZ.

Pendant 2 ans, il suivra des cours au près de Francis Winandy ainsi qu'à l'académie Marcel Désiron au près de Phillipe Doyen.

Il effectue ensuite le cursus complet (théorie et instrument) du Jazz Studio d'Anvers ou il sera diplômé en 2010. Il y fera 3 ans en basse électrique et terminera ce cursus à la contrebasse. Changement radical et définitif d'instrument. Pendant ce cursus, il suivra les cours de Bas Cooijmans, Jérémy Calbert, Bo Waterschoot, Richard Rousselet, Laurent Mercier, et bien d'autres.

​Durant ces 4 années, il fera la connaissance de 3 musiciens qui lui ouvriront l'oreille et surtout son regard sur cette musique. Deuxième rencontre importante pour lui qu'est celle avec Augusto Pirodda, Marek Patrman et Manolo Cabras.

Après le Jazz Studio, Julien continue son apprentissage de la contrebasse au près de Manolo Cabras.

En 2015, après quelques années de jam sessions en Belgique et surtout à Bruxelles, il mit sur pied son premier «vrai» projet, le Julien Fraipont Quintet. Il y partage la scène avec Aristide d'Agostino, Mathieu Najean, Mathieu De Wit et Gaspard Sicx.

C'est pour ce projet qu'il endosse une deuxième casquette, celle de compositeur. Il enregistrera son premier EP à cette période.

De 2016 à 2018, Julien, entre autres avec son quintet, se produira sur différentes scènes Belges telles que Yellow Time Jazz Festival, Bruxelles Jazz weekend, Gouvy Jazz festival et bien d’autres encore ainsi que dans beaucoup de club Bruxellois.

En parallèle de tout ça, Julien donne des cours dans diverses écoles et académies belge. En 2018, il reprend des cours au conservatoire de Maastricht afin de perfectionner sa formation.  

A suivre…

© 2020 par JULIEN FRAIPONT.